Tags

, , , , , , ,

Ever sitting at your desk and wanted to listen to some music, I have an IPOD and I always seem to either leave it home or in my gym bag.  Sometimes though, I’m sitting in my office, my officemate is out and I just want to have some background music. This is where Last.fm comes into my life.  Basically Last.fm asks you to type in the name of the band you want to listen to, then based on the genre, it creates a station for you.  After you sign up, the more bands you feed it, the more defined your station becomes.  For instance if you enter:

Frank Sinatra – You’ll hear from Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr, Ella Fitzgerald, Tony Bennett and Nat King Cole

Nirvana – You’ll hear from Foo Fighters, Pearl Jam, Stone Temple Pilots, Smashing Pumpkins and Alice in Chains

Def Leppard – You’ll hear from Van Halen, Whitesnake, Guns N’ Roses, Poison, Bon Jovi and Aerosmith

Also when you download their player, it will go into your itunes music list and come up with a channel that suits your person taste based on your tunes in itunes.  As if this site didn’t offer enough, it’s also a social network where you can meet your musical soulmate.  So take that eharmony.  Who wants to take a personality quiz when you can find that big haired rocker listening to G N’ R.

As always if you want your blog / website / podcast reviewed all you have to do is ask . . . chemgod1000@yahoo.com.

